The Secret Key

img_0826

“I will give you the keys of the kingdom of heaven; whatever you bind on earth will be bound in heaven, and whatever you loose on earth will be loosed in heaven.” 

– Matthew 16:19

First, I’d like to point out that there is no “secret” key per se, to those who believe, all that was once hidden and shrouded in mystery has either been given to us, revealed to us, or left waiting to be found by us. God doesn’t hide things from us, but for us. He is a God of mystery but He is also good. We must remember that Christ spoke in parables so that only those who believed would hear and understand. He didn’t do it to cause confusion or make it difficult for those truly hungry for Him.

“So was fulfilled what was spoken through the prophet: “I will open My mouth in parables; I will utter things hidden since the foundation of the world.”‘ – Matthew 13:35

It is the mystery left waiting for us to discover that keeps us hungry, the more that is revealed to us the hungrier we get. We are reminded with each new discovery that God is infinitely vast, not just in wisdom but in love. Again I must liken our relationship with God to that of a husband and wife. It is through communication and intimacy that couples grow closer together and so it is with God, it really is all about relationship.

The Bible is a great place to start, for all those who long for more of God, His Word is where we should all return to in both times of joy and during the varying storms of life. It is through the Word that we learn to recognize God’s voice and guidance amidst the other voices that try to sway us. It’s the Word which displays the character of Jesus which we are to mirror in our daily lives. Since we have received the Holy Spirit, the Word becomes an even deeper well of life that we get to drink from. I truly believe that if you let the Holy Spirit speak to you while you read the Bible, you will continually learn and grow in wisdom through it. You could read a chapter a million times and God will never fail to teach you more about Him.

It might seem intimidating, can we truly know God and yet not know Him fully? Honestly I can spend a lifetime learning about my husband and yet never fully know him…only God understands us all fully, even the parts of us we don’t even understand, He created us and it’s His right and will to know His creation. Nothing escapes His notice. Although I may never know my husband fully like God, I will know what stirs his heart; his passions, his dreams, what makes him smile, and what he would give his life for. You see when you are in a close relationship with someone you cannot hide your heart from them, and why would you want to? If you love someone you reveal yourself to them in ways you wouldn’t reveal to others. Love requires sacrifice and it starts by revealing your heart, sharing your dreams, and, quite honestly, being vulnerable. And so the answer to the question, can we truly know God and yet still have much to learn? Yes, we have seen through the Bible and through our personal relationship with Him the deepest desires of His heart.

What does the heart of God reveal?

“For God so loved the world, that He gave His only Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish but have eternal life.” – John 3:16

“….God is love.” -1 John 4:8

Out of all the great displays of love I have received, from handmade gifts to tender kisses, to a mother’s embrace or a father’s encouragement….none of it compares to when God gave His Son for me…it was the greatest act of love, it was the first…He died for me before I even existed, before I was even a thought in my parents minds. Do you know why you exist? Do you truly know? It wasn’t by chance or because God just decided to create you on a whim…you and I were in the heart of God from the beginning…it wasn’t enough that we were just an idea…God wanted us to exist.

I’m not a mother yet, but as time passes I find myself imagining the sound of a child’s laughter, I smile at the thought of what they will look like, and who they will grow to be. As I do dishes I look out the window and imagine my husband playing in the yard with our son. I think to myself, I can’t wait for them to be…will they like it here, will Aaron and I make good parents? I feel my excitement grow and look forward to the many memories we will share as a family. Surely these are the kind of thoughts God had of us before we came to be..

The Secret Key=Relationship

Relationship is the key to God’s heart. It is the key to the mysteries of God. It is the key to greater works through the Holy Spirit. It’s in the seeking that we find, and for those who seek God earnestly, there is much to be found.

Leave a Reply

